SSMH Governing Committee

The ASNA Board formed a hospital governing committee to specifically oversee SSMH operations; the governing committee includes tribal council representatives (excluding Anaktuvuk Pass and Point Hope), ASNA President/CEO, SSMH Hospital Administrator, SSMH Chief of Staff, and North Slope Borough Director of Health & Social Services.


Doreen Leavitt, Native Village of Barrow


Isabel Nashookpuk, Wainwright Traditional Council

Lloyd Pikok, Native Village of Point Lay

Hazel Kunaknana, Native Village of Nuiqsut

Noreen Kaleak, Native Village of Kaktovik

Muriel Brower, Native Village of Barrow

Marie Carroll, ASNA President/CEO

Richard Hall, SSMH Hospital Administrator

Dr. Barbara Medlin, SSMH Chief of Staff

Rosemarie Habeich, North Slope Borough Director of Health & Social Services